.

Was it Right to Force a Ban of Prayer Before a High School Game?

A Georgia school district has banned prayer before games after the threat of a lawsuit by a Wisconsin-based organization.

A Wisconsin-based organization threatened Haralson County School District in Georgia with a lawsuit should it continue to pray before school sports. In response, the school district pulled the prayer.

According to Foxnews, the organization, Freedom From Religion Foundation, sent a letter to the school saying that sanctioned prayers violate students’ First Amendment Rights. The lawsuit reportedly applies to all school sponsored events. As a result, the school district has halted all prayer over public announcement speakers. Groups, however, were reported to have prayed in individual circles before Friday night’s football game.

So what do you think? Was the organization right to bring the lawsuit against the school district? Or do you think this is this a misinterpretation of the words "Freedom of Religion" in the Constitution.

BigCountry September 11, 2012 at 10:02 PM
My grandmother raised us too, and taught Bible school and taught us bible sense and common sense with it. She taught us to live and let others live, and I certainly do believe that God is only able to handle the world in his divine plan not man..in peace and prayer my friend. Big C
Bill Jager September 12, 2012 at 05:23 AM
Are you saying the Bible is contradictory? :) Prayers before football games was settled a long time ago in GA and this school was breaking the law. http://law.justia.com/cases/federal/appellate-courts/F2/862/824/20114/
Racer X September 12, 2012 at 10:52 AM
For the record- The question the article asks is: "Was it right to force a ban......?" not, "Was it legal to force a ban.......?" What is right and what is the law do not always go hand in hand. The government is not the end all, be all in regards to right and wrong. Nobody has ever answered the question: Why does enforcement of Federal law apply to this minor moral question, but not apply to immigration issues? That, my friends, is.......not right.
Chris September 12, 2012 at 10:59 AM
Still don't get it do you? WOW!
Racer X September 12, 2012 at 12:26 PM
No sir. You may take me wrong, I don't even go to church. I just believe everyone (yourself included) has a right to their opinion, especially those who have served our country like Mr. Valentine and Mr. Church. I simply value their opinion more than your own, nothing personal kiddo.
Grant September 12, 2012 at 01:48 PM
Well Mike ... If you wanna get all literal no one actually "forced a ban"...An organization , at the behest of some concerned parents, advised the school that it was indeed breaking the law . The school apparently realized that indeed they were breaking the law and, wisely, instead of risking costly legal wrangling chose to comply with the law and end the practice. As it should be
bill valentine September 12, 2012 at 04:00 PM
LETS SEE......PLEDGE TO THE AMERICAN FLAG? AGAINST THE LAW NOW IN PUBLIC SCHOOLS.PRAYER? ALSO AGAINST THE LAW IN PUBLIC SCHOOLS.BIBLES? AGAINST THE LAW IN PUBLIC SCHOOLS,HOWEVER MANDANTORY IN PRISONS.WILL WE BE FORCED TO TAKE DOWN ANY CROSS THAT IS ON ANY GRAVE IN ANY CEMENTARY IN AMERICA? HOW IS IT, WE, "THE MAJORITY"CAN HAVE ONE,YES I SAID 1,PERSON CRY LIKE A BABY TO THE A.C.L.U. ABOUT OUR BELIEFS THAT HAVE STOOD THE TEST MANY,MANY YEARS AND WE ARE NOW BREAKING THE LAWS EVERY WHERE? WHEN WILL THIS END? I THINK WE ALL KNOW.I WILL DIE FOR OUR BELIEFS AND RIGHTS THAN BOW DOWN TO ANTI-EVERYTHING THAT HAS NO MORALS. SATAN IS LAUGHING AND DANCING AS HE WATCHES US"AMERICANS"CRUMBLE BEFORE HIS FEET..AS FOR ME ,I WILL STAND FOR GOD AND AMERICA. ALWAYS HAVE,ALWAYS WILL....IF ANY OF YOU EVEN THINK IM PUSHING RELIGON DOWN YOUR THROATS WELL YOU ARE WRONG.SAD TO SAY I DO NOT ATTEND ANY CHURCH ON A REGULAR BASIS.
Racer X September 12, 2012 at 04:29 PM
Grant- "Advising" and threatening legal action are two very different things lad.
BigCountry September 12, 2012 at 05:49 PM
I commend you for fighting for our country. My uncle is a vet too,and his point-of-view in nothing close to yours. I just showed you Bill what the the bible scripture says, which you posted partially first. And you claim to go strictly by the bible with your emotions and stance..so why are you still angry?. Just come to terms with the fact that this is all you Bill and your feelings. It has nothing to do with what God says. And you say you will die for "our" beliefs and rights...Who is "our". Please note that all Americans don't think like you do before you decide to die for us. Bill I really do think you need to calm down and educate yourself more. Read a few books other than those given to you. No offense. And please don't listen to Mike. He'll have you upset and he apparently won't help you learn anymore than you already think you know. Peace to you. Big C
Grant September 12, 2012 at 05:51 PM
Bill valentine writes ".PLEDGE TO THE AMERICAN FLAG? AGAINST THE LAW NOW IN PUBLIC SCHOOLS" Actually Bill Georgia State Law requires students in public school be given the opportunity to recite the pledge. You should really have some idea what you are talking about before going off on an all caps rant . Further any student that wants to read whatever Holy book he desires is not prevented from doing so in any public school
Grant September 12, 2012 at 05:54 PM
Not really Mike .. "How about advised that the practice is illegal and may face legal challenge if the situation is not rectified " You like that better? In any case , the school was participating in an illegal activity , the matter was brought to their attention and they r4esponded accordingly.. Hallelujah and amen !
Steve R. September 12, 2012 at 06:06 PM
Mike Horsman 10:52 pm on Monday, September 10, 2012 "Yeah I know, crazy where these things go. The dang liberals steer you all over the place. I promise not to post anymore on this thread".
bill valentine September 12, 2012 at 06:07 PM
shhhh! be quiet. dont let the a.c.l.u. know this. they might try and take away the pledge. im am 62. seen alot taken away from us. and i need tell others that are posting that i am sometimes coufused as to whom is posting so please dont take me wrong.yes i do not have an education like the most of yah do. however i have made over a million in 4 years in the past.that was when times were great.i am retired and disabled and proud of the v.a.for taking care of me.i dont deserve it.only pulled 3 years in army.and my wife and i did lose all our life savings and more trusting in our goverment when we owned enron,and worldcom...thankyou all for being a friend and speaking your mind.i will everyone the best.....a tired old vet,.bill
Grant September 12, 2012 at 07:47 PM
Steve I'm to blame for bring Mike back into the discussion as I directed a few questions at him ...
Bill Jager September 12, 2012 at 08:17 PM
@ Mike Horsman, Of course it was necessary to ban prayers that were sponsored by the school. Georgia lost that lawsuit in 1989 and your school was in violation ever since. It was a violation of the United States Constitution even before that. http://law.justia.com/cases/federal/appellate-courts/F2/862/824/20114/ Good to see the school finally following the law.
Bill Jager September 12, 2012 at 08:24 PM
I am not a Christian and I am wondering, is the words of Jesus more important in the Bible than that of Paul and other writers? Are Christians followers of Paul or Jesus? What did JESUS say in Matt 6: 5-6?
Larry Reid September 12, 2012 at 09:02 PM
Bill Jager, I believe you have made your opinion obvious to the patch community. You have been clear that you are not a Christian although you choose to quote the Christian bible. You have repeated your source and it is noted. Clearly everyone is, or should be by now, convinced that you are proud of your involvement seeing to it that this law is upheld. Is there any reason for you to continue repeating yourself? Please! No need to answer a rhetorical question. If anyone is still uncertain: “Was it Right to Force a Ban of Prayer Before a High School Game?”, the legal answer is yes. Like it or not, as free Americans, we must remember that those among us may be sensitive with our worship as we may be with theirs. God Bless The USA!
BigCountry September 12, 2012 at 10:22 PM
Yes Larry the USA --all the people and different diversities of people and religions within it! Yes GOD Bless us All and all our people in foreign lands too! Amen
BigCountry September 12, 2012 at 10:23 PM
Can't argue with you on that one Larry..I agree!
Larry Reid September 12, 2012 at 11:27 PM
To be clear, my previous comments were intended to address the Patch user “Bill Jager” registered to Loganville-Grayson Patch with the assumption that the Patch user “Bill Jager” was the aforementioned “William Jager” in the article linked from the Patch user “Bill Jager”. I suggest that Anyone may create a Patch user name that hasn’t previously been chosen by Anyone else. This being said, Anyone could be using the name “Bill Jager” without actually being the “William Jager” in the article linked from the Patch user “Bill Jager”.
Racer X September 13, 2012 at 02:38 AM
Grant- Thank you. That was unexpected and I appreciate it.
Racer X September 13, 2012 at 03:05 AM
Bill- Why do you live in the South? Just wondering.
Bill Jager September 13, 2012 at 04:03 AM
No assumption on my part Larry. :) and if I must prove who I am: https://www.facebook.com/bill.jager.5
Bill Jager September 13, 2012 at 04:06 AM
Apparently not clear enough when public schools in Georgia continue to violate the law even after loosing a major lawsuit.
OICUR12 September 13, 2012 at 04:57 AM
Mike Horseman, might you consider laying off the vodka shakes that you claim to consume in morning hours? It is clear that you are often unsure of yourself. On two occasions in the past several days, you have apologized to other members and on a third instance, you promised "not to post anymore on this thread" (your words). You have frivolously posted 4 or 5 more times on this thread and you are now thanking Grant as if he had saved you somehow. "Mike Horsman 10:38 pm on Wednesday, September 12, 2012 Grant- Thank you. That was unexpected and I appreciate it. This is embarrassing. PLEASE, consider how this looks to all Patch readers in the future as you post arguments against Obama and for Republicans. Your posts are hurting your credibility and our fight against liberalism. Pause-then Post! Or not at all. PLEASE!
Racer X September 13, 2012 at 11:16 AM
OICUR12- Dude, the Vodka shake gag was only in jest. For the record, I do not wish to post on this topic anymore. I have said my piece and read other's perspectives. When I am directly adrdessed, I feel the need to reply, as I use my real name here. You don't seem to understand that it's not us against them. We are all Americans. You, in the far right, do as much to alienate moderate liberals as those on the far left who are alienating moderate conservatives. The 70% of moderates are being divided by the 15% at each end of the spectrum. Shame on us. I don't agree with Grant's views but I can appreciate when someone does something nice, especially in this forum wrought with hate. Being insulting does nothing for anyone. Doing so without attaching your real name doubly so.
Racer X September 13, 2012 at 11:30 AM
Bill- I checked out your Facebook page. I know we are at odds on this topic but believe would likely agree on many other things. Thanks for serving our country and for showing some backbone. There are many on Patch, Left and Right, who hide behind their computers, throw rocks, and accomplish nothing.
CPJMSR September 13, 2012 at 12:11 PM
No one is above the law. Countless suits have shown that it is unlawful to hold prayers in public schools. Public schools are for everyone, including those of different faiths, those with no faith, and those who could not care less about faith. If you would like your children to be in a school that supports their particular faith, enroll them in a private religious school.
skeptic4321 September 13, 2012 at 04:53 PM
The only "Christian" concept, imo, that has any value is "do unto others." And this is not even uniquely Christian. "Christian principles" include a virgin birth, resurrections, heaven/hell, judgment day, vicarious redemption via human sacrifice (predicated on animal sacrifice), magical thinking/prayer, imaginary friends/enemies, suppression of women's rights, homophobia, scientific illiteracy, etc. (and I think these may be contemporary Republican characteristics, too). You can believe these things all you want, but our government established by our secular Constitution (the only mention of god/religion in our Constitution is exclusionary) cannot favor one religion or sect over another or religion over non-religion. For this reason, prayers should not be said at government supported/publicly funded gatherings (and, imo, there shouldn't even be a moment of silence, as this, in reality, is promoting religion over non-religion and is always something Christians want to impose on others). Think about it- ALL these things are instigated by Christians trying to impose their beliefs on others. If you Christians would stop trying to impose your beliefs, ideas, superstition/magical thinking, etc., on us non-Christians, perhaps we would stop throwing the BS flag at your Bronze Age mythology in tax payer supported/public forums.
skeptic4321 September 13, 2012 at 04:53 PM
Finally, "In God We Trust" on paper money and "...,under god,..." in the pledge are products of the 1950's cold war and were not part of American history until the 1950's. "E Pluribus Unum" as the default motto and "..one nation, indivisable.." with no mention of a god were far better than the creeping Christian theocracy we have in America.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »