.

Do You Believe Paul Ryan is Qualified to Be President?

A vice president is said to be just a heartbeat away from the presidency. So if a Romney/Ryan ticket were to win the White House in November, would Paul Ryan be qualified to step up if the need arose?

We're now on the last day of the Republican National Convention in Tampa, Fla., and the final stretch of Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan's campaign for the White House. Wednesday, we got to hear Ryan's speech. It was designed to show us just who he is and why he is qualified to be vice president. But the bigger question is, should the need arise, is he qualified to be president?

In the 2008 election, one of the arguments by those who didn't vote for John McCain was that they didn't believe his vice president pick, Sarah Palin, was qualified. And now, some of those who are critical of the current administration question what would happen should Vice President Joe Biden ever be given the reigns at the White House.

So our question on this last day of the RNC is, if a Romney/Ryan ticket is successful, is Paul Ryan qualified to take over as president should the need ever arise?

Larry Reid August 31, 2012 at 06:29 PM
Tammy, not that it matters but it was Rubio that said that about Obama being a bad president, not Dirty Harry. : )
Todd M August 31, 2012 at 06:33 PM
This thing could go on forever. The truth is that I will never change a liberal mind. Most of what I post here has been for those who have the willingness to see. No side is perfect. I am in fact a fiscal conservative, and a social libertarian. I believe in the freedom to be free, to choose the way God intended, for myself. I don't hold any human to a high level of perfection, not Ryan, not Mitt, nobody, not even Reagan. All will fail in the same common places, those that are common to every human. Every group, whether politics or the local community subdivision board is subject to the same corrupting power. I've even seen it in myself. So what makes anyone better than Obama? We all must put our faith in something before actually seeing it. The only way I can express it is to say that the night is so dark, that even a little light is like the brightest sunshine. I'm sure Romney will falter along the way. That is why I am putting a lot of effort into replacing the incumbents who have shown to be spineless...especially some here in Georgia. We need solid people who will hold the President accountable. Now where do I find the unsubscribe button?
Todd M August 31, 2012 at 06:35 PM
I think my favorite quote from Ryan's speech was something to the effect of "I don't want to live in a country where everything is free except us". Oh..and George..."Barking Moon Bat". Pretty much sums up your insanity.
George Wilson August 31, 2012 at 06:37 PM
@ Concerned Citizen At every step of the way the Republican congress had tried to derail Obama's efforts.Thet stated early on that the strategy was to make Obama a one term president.Even our Gov,annouced last week that he was refusing to put 650,000 georgians on Medicaid even through it would be 100% paid for by the federal government.Over 850 georgians die each year from a lack of health insurance. You can draw your own conclusions but i think it is outrageous and criminal.
Larry Reid August 31, 2012 at 06:42 PM
CC, if you're missing something, you aren't the only one. Until I starting reading the patch blogs, I assumed all the Obama supporters were Amish and had little access to the real world. (Disclaimer) - It's just a joke. I apologize in advance if anyone is hurt. Now I realize that there are just a lot of really stupid voters with blinders on.
Brian Crawford August 31, 2012 at 06:53 PM
You'll enjoy this George: http://www.dailykos.com/story/2012/08/31/1126187/-Eastwood-Punks-Romney
George Wilson August 31, 2012 at 06:55 PM
@Todd M Argumentium ad Hominem is a fallacy in logic!
Brian Crawford August 31, 2012 at 06:55 PM
Don't run off just because someone started throwing some facts at you.
Brian Crawford August 31, 2012 at 07:00 PM
Obama reached across the aisle, repeatedly. The pubs refused to reach back. It took him a while to figure out that they had no intention of compromising. He finally realized he was going to have to go it alone. That's where we are today. You want to change that? Start with the Republican Congress.
George Wilson August 31, 2012 at 07:22 PM
@Brian Crawford Thanks that was very funny.Have you ever heard of a" Barking Moon Bat"? I've been called that but have never heard of it.Is it native to Georgia?
George Wilson August 31, 2012 at 07:24 PM
@Jim Aspen Another Republican lie.
Larry Reid August 31, 2012 at 07:39 PM
Did he really think he could get away with stealing that much money? Where would he hide it? Offshore I bet. I'm with you on this one George.
barbra labour August 31, 2012 at 07:53 PM
hum... this is only my personal opinion... Since I think the most important thing our country and government should do next.. Is put the budget in order:.. all the arguments re: health care, military, jobs, etc. are all pointless:... if you do not have the money to pay the bills.....I am hopeful that we will have someone who reads, understands and takes action on our budget... Please think:... how long before our creditors demand thier money....its not going to be pretty.. so yes.. I think he would and could do the job that I think is the most important..
Lu Burroughs August 31, 2012 at 08:18 PM
George: To your point about Equal Pay for Equal Work; as a woman steadily employed in the work force for 30 years, I will tell you this is lip service pandering to women by Obama. To point 2, I hope they take away your Viagra to pay for this. To point 3, the Supreme Court already addressed this and decided not to take it up for review again. Roe v. Wade will not be overturned. On the auto industry, Chrysler is now owned by foreign company Fiat. GM should simply no longer exist. Job creation? How about those ADA compliant crosswalks on Georgia 316 and 400? Are those people who put them in still employed? There are no sidewalks leading to those crosswalks and you can’t tell me anyone with a disability would enter those crosswalks in a wheelchair in a 65 MPH zone on GA 316 or 400 and make it across the intersection alive. A shovel ready project only a gravedigger will benefit from.Affordable healthcare? NOT. Together, my spouse and I are just over the income limit so we’d get no voucher to offset costs if our employer’s decide they’d rather pay the measly fines. I’d be stuck with terrible coverage at a higher price to me (and no I’m not on a Cadillac plan).
George Wilson August 31, 2012 at 09:48 PM
@barbra labour It is more important to get people working again.If you can do this than the budget problem will start to go away.Republicans will have to admit that if you are going to spend money on the military(we spend more than the entire world put together)and corporate welfare than you need some revenue called taxes. Nothing is free.Also as long as the world is willing to loan us money at a low interest rate ,lets take advantage of it and rebuild our infrastructure and put people back to work.
johnny o stallings September 01, 2012 at 01:51 AM
Good evening. First , I would like to ask Deanna(ed) why my Norton Antivirus is screaming at me not to log on to Patch? Maybe you are hosting some malicious participants. Second, and more importantly, I want to applaud: especially David Brown for understanding what the real problem is' and recognising what will be required to solve the pressing issues. Sharon S, Tammy O., and Barbara L. for seeing that our strength as a nation has, and always will, come from our ability to unite for the common good. And shame on you Harriet, Brian O., and George W., for being the narrow-minded "my way or no-way" personalities who cannot see past their own little agendas long enough to recognise when there is something good to be had if they would only take a step towards working together. It is late, this was a long day, and I must retire.
johnny o stallings September 01, 2012 at 03:01 AM
HahahaHarriet. Must have hit a nerve there. I do have the balls to mention who I am instead of hiding behind a screen name, You, in turn,must cower behind yours in the shadows, and can only respond to my observation of your particular type of self-serving mentality by lashing out and calleg me gay. Actually, I am quite gay, about giving you the opportunity to ssshow your true colors.
johnny o stallings September 01, 2012 at 03:21 AM
And here's the real kick Harriet. You are so closed-minded you didn't even recognise that we are on the same side of the isle!
John Cook September 01, 2012 at 04:09 AM
I heard that Ryan lied about the closing of the GM plant; then I went and listened to his actual statement on CSPAN.com video. The folks that accused him of lying were the ones telling the lies. CSPAN just gives the raw video without telling you what to think. Some folks would not have anything to talk about if their favorite news outlet didn't tell them what to think, though. Most of the convention speeches are there. You would be surprised at how much was edited by your favorite news channel. I enjoyed watching the convention without the "talking heads" telling me what I was supposed to think.
John Cook September 01, 2012 at 04:22 AM
Did Ryan lie about Medicare? If so, Obama told the same lie on ABC news in this interview: Obama said on ABC News that he cut medicare by more than 700 billion to pay for the Healthcare bill http://youtu.be/t5Ha7RNpn24 . You should not invent a clever double entry accounting method to try to make the cut disappear after making it, should you? In your opinion the cuts to providers/doctors may have "benefited the program," but it did not benefit the average American retired person who moves to a new community and tries to find a doctor who accepts new medicare patients. If your doctor retires and you are on Medicare, you are screwed when you try to find a new doctor who accepts new medicare patients. When you cut payments to medicare doctors, they quit accepting new patients. Period. Sure it helps balance the books of the system, but how does that help us if we have no doctor to see for the marvelous new system?
John Cook September 01, 2012 at 04:51 AM
Who lied? This is from the Janesville Gazette, but I suppose the folks in the town didn't really know what was occurring in town, did they? http://gazettextra.com/weblogs/latest-news/2009/apr/19/gm-plant-close-week/ Apparently the "journalists, fact-checkers, and independent observers" got it wrong regarding the date of the GM plant closing in Janesville, WI. (Note the date on the article is 4 months after Obama took office.) What else did they get wrong? The fact-checkers say the plant was slated to close before Obama took office. But Obama knew that when he made the campaign promise to keep the plant open.
Tammy Osier September 01, 2012 at 01:38 PM
Larry - lol. I guarantee you, guarantee you, that the liberals on here did NOT listen to Rubio or any of the other folks that spoke the other night. They get their opinions from the talking points that seek to tear them apart afterwards. Funny thing is, that after the libs get ahold of their words, tear them to shreads and call them liars, find out later that they weren't lying after all. Same - o, same - o. What else is new. To the conservative voices on here (only), I'm thrilled that we finally have some mature leaders to present to our country. McCain and other rinos were all we had for a while there. Rubio, Ryan, Cain, Sowell, Rice, and Jindal to name just a few. Thanks to conservatives willing to admit when they're wrong and correct it, we have powerful leaders to choose from now. Just in time too. Speaking of Jindal - I'm sure LA. is thankful for mature leaders this time around during a disaster. Jindal has been begging for some response from the white house. Romney is already there, Obama is only going there as an afterthought (rather, after a campaign stop in ohio). Wonder where Kanye West is now to criticize him? Oh wait...he's not a republican. lol
Tammy Osier September 01, 2012 at 01:45 PM
Brian, when I say "reach across the aisle", I'm not talking about the conditions that obama and dem congress puts on things for republicans to agree with. Ironically, there are MANY democrats that find some of the ideas of fellow democrats to be extreme and won't agree with him either. You guys neglect to mention them. So, it's not just republicans. It goes both ways. Reaching across the aisle means that they will listen to republican plans as well. They have yet to do that. Republicans have a lot of plans- they are just not considered. Clinton is to be respected in that he saw that some republican plans were good (welfare reform, contract with America) and reached out and embraced them. That's how he got re-elected. Your man is just can't bring himself to do that.
Tammy Osier September 01, 2012 at 02:22 PM
And Johnny O. S. - love your posts, and thanks for the encouragement.
Tammy Osier September 01, 2012 at 04:21 PM
This just in...the fact-checkers were found not checking the facts as they should. The liberal "fact checkers" need fact checkers- lol. They need to stop outsourcing their information and actually find out the facts for themselves before publicizing them. Turns out that Ryan was completely correct. Obmas's exact words were.."But this "will not disrupt the lives of the people who work at Chrysler or the communities that depend on it,"... then, jobs were lost and cut. Everything he promised, gets money thrown at it (not the solution) and people lose jobs etc... The problem is not that the president doesn't want to do anything about all this, it's just that he really doesn't know how. That's what I think. This holds true for the point made at the convention- it isn't that he's a bad man, just a bad president". Romney does know how. I can't wait til November.
johnny o stallings September 01, 2012 at 11:23 PM
Tammy O. The encouragement we are sharing with each other IS contagious. If we all would just set aside our personal agendas, and attiude of "my way or no way" and start with" what is best for us all" at heart, a multitude of current issues would melt to the wayside. A little cooperation and consideration of others is the first step .Note I didn't say go belly up, I said look for the common ground that will benefit us as a whole, There is no "ME" in "TEAM".
John Cook September 29, 2012 at 12:06 AM
Who lied? This is from the Janesville Gazette, but I suppose the folks in the town where the plant is actually located didn't really know what was occurring in town, did they? http://gazettextra.com/weblogs/latest-news/2009/apr/19/gm-plant-close-week/
Atina October 04, 2012 at 09:24 PM
Do I believe believe Paul Ryan is Qualified to Be President? NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Todd M October 04, 2012 at 09:30 PM
Atina...if you think our current President is qualified, then I have to wonder if you are qualified enough to be taken seriously on this post! Better yet, do you think our current VP is qualified to be VP? Seriously? If so you must have never heard him speak!
johnny o stallings October 05, 2012 at 01:11 AM
Atina, after last night's debate, are you ready to see what the more eloquent of the two does to his incumbent contemporary on the 11th?

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »